Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Mustaine gains 10 points in my book

Dave popped up on the jumbotron last night much to my glee. he emphatically supported the Flyers and fans.

i have been listening to Megadeth for the past week — most likely inspired by the article and the now infamous quote "many of the women and children looked as if they could work security for Megadeth."

kudos, Dave.

Megadeth's Mustaine Backs Flyers Fans


Posted Apr 29th 2008 2:52PM by Eric McErlain

Last week we wrote about how a Mike Wise column in the Washington Post got under the collective skin of the Flyers fans in Philadelphia.

But while the Flyers decided against printing and distributing 19,000 copies of that column before Game Six of their first round series with the Caps, the team continues to find creative ways to use it to stoke the rage inside the Philadelphia fan base.

Buried at the bottom of the game notes in the AP wire story covering last night's 3-2 Philly win over Montreal was this interesting tidbit:

In response to a Washington Post column about the Flyers fans that read "women and children could be security for Megedeth," lead singer Dave Mustaine sent a videotaped message of support. He wore Jason Smith's sweater.

Regretfully, said video is not yet available online, though I'm guessing the Philadelphia PR staff is most likely rectifying that situation as I type.

Whatever you might think of the Flyers and their "Back With a Vengeance" theme for this season, you've got to hand it to those folks. If it isn't clear by now that they know their fanbase as well or better than any other team in the NHL, then it ought to be by now.

Monday, March 31, 2008

The Man Who Plants Hope

The Man Who Plants Hope had been my blog for about 4 years. it served me well and i've had to move it here.

i summed it up as "fractured musings; thoughts trapped in amber ones and zeros; weaknesses and pride-filled exclamations; for no one and every(no)one."

from this point on, it'll be fresh and current.

Yay for title images

01-10-2008

Apple Store Manhattan, up
i got a work around tip from kyle on how to once again have a blog header image.

sweet!



it's of that great glass cube that is the Apple Store Manhattan, looking up from the subfloor.

the glass elevator and stair are all that.

i'll need to craft a new one specifically for the blog, but this works for me. it is also timely as Macworld SF is almost upon us.

toys, toys, toys, toys

Another year

12-31-2007
in Self absorbed crap

i've had a typical, if more sharply contrasting, year.

i've made some new friends, lost some.

fallen in and out of love.

i've fallen into old habits.

closed off part of my heart.

grew tired, feeling old for the first time.

lost intimacy comparative to the past.

gained little more knowledge.
much more appreciation, though.

didn't come to blows in a physical sense.

seen a lot of movies, though fewer concerts.

had some dreams crushed and others unrealized.

revisited old and inspiring people and places.

eaten fewer cheese steaks.

felt betrayed.

cried less.

stayed loyal "to my own pleasure zone"

got caught up in the iPhone phenomenon.

abandoned homestar runner.

… and much more.

response:
linka_sofia:
I should do this sort of retrospective of my year.... dunno whether I can be bothered, though. It's in the past, and mayhap I should just leave it there.

So why did you ditch the homestar? Just wonderin.

Most depressing fact of Linka's 2007: 100% of it spent in the United States
Most fabulous fact of Linka's 2007: ummm... this one's gonna take some thought. prolly that I visited NYC.

There, that is my list. I am usually a woman of many words, so '08's the year I learn to be pithy. Is cool, no?

xoxox

me:
i didn't consciously ditch the series, i just fell out of it.
i was hardcore into it forever.
i mean, i have a stuffed cheat and my GF a cheat hoodie fer chrissake.

concise, as a person, is fine. however, if lack of motivated thought and expression is misconstrued as concise, that's not cool.

i just miss hearing from Linka. i, as an outsider, view that as worthy of concern. i could be the one who is missing the construe, but i fig you should know.

Why i Love/Hate High Fidelity

12-05-2007


INT. CHARLIE'S LIVING ROOM - LATER

Rob is a little too settled into the couch, somewhat bleary.
Everyone gone but the two of them, Charlie plops down into a
chair across from Rob.

ROB
Hey Charlie.

CHARLIE
Hey Rob.

ROB
Why did you break up with me for
Marco?

CHARLIE
(on her feet)
Fuck! I knew it! You're going
through one of those what-does-it-
all-mean things.

ROB
Huh?

CHARLIE
There's been a rash of them,
recently. I find it a little
unnerving. In fact Marco called a
few months back, and he wanted to
see me, and rehash the past as they
say, and I wasn't really up for it.
Do all men go through this?

ROB(CONT'D)
C'mon, just answer the question.
You can say what you like. What
the hell?

Charlie looks off at a corner of the ceiling, musters a look
of "contemplation."

CHARLIE
It's all kind of lost in the... in
the dense mists of time now... It
wasn't that I really liked Marco
more. In fact I thought you were
more, shall we say, attractive than
him. It was just that he knew he
was good-looking and you didn't,
and that made a difference somehow.
You used to act as if I was weird
for wanting to spend time with you,
and that got kind of beat, if you
know what I mean. Your self-image
started to rub off on me and I
ended up thinking that I was
strange. And I knew that you were
kind and thoughtful... you made me
laugh, and I dug the way you got
consumed by things you loved... and
Marco seemed a bit more, I don't
know, glamorous? More sure of
himself?
(pause)
Less hard work, because I felt like
I was dragging you around, sort of.
(pause)
A little sunnier. Sparkier.
(pause)
I don't know. You know what people
are like at that age. They make
very superficial judgements. Do
you think that's superficial? He
was a clown, if it's any consolation.

ROB
Did you tell that to Marco when he
did his what-does-it-all-mean thing
with you?

CHARLIE
Oh God, no. I didn't want to hurt
his feelings.

i laugh a lot when i watch this. but it also exposes those corners. the ones that i discover while trying to solve a leak in my sink. at floor level, the world looks different. the ugly truth that i didn't clean here for awhile.

i haven't top 5'd in awhile soooo…

top 5 reasons this movie gets to me:
• [strike thru]the questioning.[/strike thru]
(yeah, i know it's not a real tag, but fuck
you, it's my blog.)
*ahem*
• that every fucking time i watch it
another part of me is unearthed,
dissected, desecrated and brings about
melancholy; it's like an effin' recovery
program.
• the slacker.
• the over analyzing.
• the romanticizing but knowing it's only
a veneer.
• the knowing that the above exchange
is true. but not at the time, and only
now, with reflection, can i appreciate it.

NoLibs gets #350

11-12-2007

only a matter of time before it's in your (swanky) backyard.
Shooting In Northern Liberties

Philadelphia police are investigating another murder in the city that happened just after midnight in Northern Liberties.

Police said that started out as an argument turned into homicide when 23-year-old Rhashe Allen died after he was shot in the head.

The shooting took place near the intersection of 7th and Girard streets. The gunman got away.

It is the 350th homicide in the city this year.

Copyright 2007 by NBC10.com


mmmm, maybe i won't be going to the Post Office.

i usually don't come home on 7th. typically, just like my trip last week, i get some punk-ass-nigger who jumps out in front of my bike trying to spook me, acting all cool in front of his friends.

this is when i fantasize about telescoping batons and broken jaws.

not cool.

Ugly

10-30-2007
in My tangible universe

Philadelphia has the ugliest people in the country, according to Travel & Leisure Magazine.

Philadelphia is home to the least attractive people in the United States, a survey of visitors and residents showed on Friday. The city of more than 1.5 million people was also found to be among the least stylish, least active, least friendly and least worldly, according to the “America’s Favourite Cities” survey by Travel & Leisure magazine and CNN Headline News.

Of the 25 major American cities ranked by citizen attractiveness, Philadelphia finished dead-last.

According to 60,000 respondents to the magazine's online survey, Philadelphians are slightly more repulsive than Washingtonians (24), Dallasites (23) and San Antonions (22) but way uglier than Miamians (1), San Diegoans (2) and Charlestonians (3).

haha!
i'm a sexy man. this is fucked up.
sure, we ain't winning beauty contests, but we ain't all living in Fishtown (my neighboring neighborhood). seriously ugly people there. inbreeding ugly.

my coworker attributes the rank to the neighborhood and to the cheese steak.

mmmmmmm…

on a related note, i am lobbying for my face to be on a billboard for my company eating said ugly-inducing cheese steak. the theme: because you don't always eat a salad.

response:
linka_sofia:
what happened, obviously, is all the visitors/tourists laid eyes on YOU, then on the rest of your brethren (y'all are into brotherly love over there, aintcha?) and the disparity was so stark and glaring they were aghast at the relative hideosity of the majority of the citizens. uhhh... or something!!!
(you handsome you!)


me:
EXACTLY! finally, someone talking some sense here!